This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.1 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.6
Property location
8.5
Facilities
7.6
Staff
9.3
Value
7.6
Reviews
    Alan
    gb
    6.7
    13 February 2018
    Nice view but cold and no fire or security precautions.
    Only 4 rooms. We were only resident but wit us the owner and owners friend there was no space left in parking had 4 rooms been full no parking. No locks on internal doors and the “en suite” is shared with adjoining room. If we hadn’t been sole residents then no security. I could see no fire extinguishers not smoke detectors. Wood panelling, scented candles and the smell of cigarette smoke wafting down stairs from owners lounge. It was February but extremely cold overnight. The solution apparently is to leave the electric heater in your room on overnight. With so smoke detector!
    Very friendly staff, one person, great view from the down the valley to the sea several miles away..
    Feathered
    gb
    7.1
    5 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lynn
    us
    9.2
    2 January 2018
    Enjoyable bed and breakfast stay.
    It was difficult to locate.
    Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.
    Mohammad
    gb
    8.3
    31 December 2017
    Awesome
    People are amazing, very helpful & friendly, there lots of space, there a very good mountain view bbq place front of the hotel.. location are quiet full of nature beauty..
    Kate
    gb
    9.2
    28 December 2017
    Short and sweet Christmas day stopover
    Little chilly in the morning.
    Simon was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and there was plenty of everything. Fabulous views from breakfast room.
    wayne
    gb
    8.3
    3 November 2017
    late autumn break
    Difficult to locate property.but proprietor guided us via phone
    Crispy bacon
    andrew
    gb
    9.2
    30 October 2017
    Overall very good.
    location was fab, friendly host, great breakfast, very peaceful.
    Andrew
    gb
    7.9
    29 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Prakash
    in
    7.1
    18 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    William
    gb
    7.9
    14 October 2017
    Friendly and relaxing
    Yvonne
    gb
    7.9
    2 October 2017
    An enjoyable, relaxing, comfortable stay with lovely helpful hosts.
    Some parts of property in need of maintenance and updating,but nothing major.
    Very friendly owners.Beautiful views.Excellent breakfast.5 mins drive to Aberystwyth.
    Liz
    gb
    9.6
    29 September 2017
    Comfortable stay, welcoming hosts, peaceful, great location. Very rural. Looking forward to a return
    There was nothing we didn't like. Everything was fine.
    Not showy accommodation, comfortable and homely. Just right for what we wanted.
    cheryl
    gb
    9.6
    25 September 2017
    a very relaxing and comfortable stay hope to stay there again
    the only thing missing were place mats on the side tables which would help keep their furniture protected from tea and coffee stains
    the place was in the country very quiet the nearest pub was a mile away so would need a car to get anywhere from there. it was extremely comfortable and the owners were very friendly and accomodating
    Nicola
    gb
    9.2
    19 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gb
    2.5
    19 September 2017
    Did not enjoy the stay here.
    Everything, dirty,, unkempt, very tired looking property, no fire regulations in place , candles lit all over, and the owner would only deal in cash only. Going to make an official complaint to booking .com, we could not even lock the bedroom properly if we went out.
    Only the scenery, we had a sea view from the bedroom.
    Pete
    gb
    6.2
    15 September 2017
    Owners hospitable,food good.accomodation rather dated.
    Duvet very thin.Bathroom across corridor, although exclusive use.Doors rattle in the wind
    Owners very hospitable
    Nicholas
    gb
    10
    2 September 2017
    Lovely, relaxed stay in a beautiful location.
    Excellent stay in a lovely location, great view from the room right to the sea. Simon and Shirley were lovely, Simon cooks a super breakfast. great conversation if you want it. Very relaxed and free to come and go as you please. Looking forward to returning sometime.
    ceri
    gb
    8.3
    28 August 2017
    Amazing views, Simon was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble
    Joseph
    gb
    7.1
    27 August 2017
    Room with a view
    The house exterior needed a dose of TLC. It is off-putting. The potentially lovely view from the breakfast room was spoilt by the dirty window and the sad looking patio. There were some other cleanliness issues. We much prefer an ensuite room. I assumed this was the case when I booked. We also prefer a shower-not a bath with a spray attachment. My husband found this very difficult, particularly because part of the bath is under the sloping roof. Likewise with the toilet. He banged his head several times. We did not like having to creep or dash across the landing-particularly during the night. There was a bathrobe provided but this was XL, very heavy and not in an acceptable condition. Our room was nice but a mirror near an electric socket would have been useful. Also, we were a bit perturbed at not being able to lock the door from the outside when we went out. It was good to have parking but it required good maneuverability skills at times.
    Our first impression was not favourable and thus concerning. However we were greeted and shown to a surprisingly acceptable upstairs room and 'private' bathroom-across the landing -not ensuite. The room had great views of the green hills and pastures with a glimpse of the sea beyond. We were fortunate with the weather. Breakfast was good and substantial- choice of menu- promptly served at a pre-arranged time. The location is peaceful, restful and just a short drive from Aberystwyth and not too difficult to locate. We liked the Portmeirion tableware at breakfast. Great hospitality.
    Helen
    gb
    10
    26 August 2017
    excellent will book again
    The smell of smoke in hall as smokers stood just outside the front door. Could do with a smoking point away from the house
    You were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much.
Loading reviews
Close